ISC Maglev Conferences

The International Steering Committee (ISC) for Maglev 20xx Conferences

The primary task of the International Steering Committee (ISC) is to define the topics and upcoming meeting places for the International MAGLEV conferences. Important decision-making criteria are current developments in science and industry as well as the goal of the appropriate promotion of relevant national maglev developments.

The committee is made up of 20 members, all of whom are experts in the Maglev field. A new member is accepted by vote. Proposals for election can only be made by members of the ISC. In the case of several applicants, the decision to the conference venue is carried out by secret ballot.


Honorary Chair:   JAPAN | Eisuke Masada

Chair:  JAPAN | Hiroyuki Ohsaki

Members: (in alphabetical order, by nation)

    1. BRAZIL | Richard Magdalena Stephan  ♦
    2. BRAZIL | Antonio Carlos Ferreira  ♦
    3. CANADA | Konrad Woronowicz  ♦
    4. FRANCE | Gerard Coquery
    5. GERMANY | Michael Witt   ♦
    6. GERMANY | Friedrich Loeser
    7. GERMANY | Johannes Kluehspies  ♦
    8. JAPAN | Ken Nagashima
    9. JAPAN | Noriyuki Shirakuni
    10. JAPAN | Hiroyuki Ohsaki (Chair)
    11. JAPAN | M. Terai
    12. POLAND | Ryszard Pałka  ♦
    13. PR CHINA | Guobin Lin  ♦
    14. PR CHINA | L. Xiao
    15. PR CHINA | Zigang Deng
    16. PR CHINA | Sansan Ding
    17. RUSSIAN FEDERATION | Sergey Smirnov
    18. SOUTH-KOREA | Byung-Chun Shin
    19. SWITZERLAND | Vincent Bourquin  ♦
    20. UNITED STATES OF AMERICA | Laurence Blow  ♦

♦ = Professional of the International Maglev Board



Retired commitee members

Cassat, A. (EPFL, Swiss)
Ebihara, D. (IEEJ Fellow, Japan)
Goodall, R. (Loughborough Univ., UK)
Gurol, S. (GA, USA)
Jufer, M. (EPFL, Swiss)
Krishnan, R. (Virginia Tech., USA)
Leung, E. (Magtec Eng., USA)
Rote, D.M. (ANL, USA)
Yan. L. (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)



Deceased committee members

Richard Post passed away on April 7, 2015 (USA).

Gordon Danby passed away on August 2, 2016 (USA).

James Powell passed away on May 27, 2019 (USA).


Please enable the javascript to submit this form