Primary Types

There are two primary types of maglev technology: Electromagnetic and electrodynamic suspension.

The two primary types of maglev technology:

  • electromagnetic suspension (EMS) uses the attractive magnetic force of a magnet beneath a guideway to lift the train up.
  • electrodynamic suspension (EDS) uses a repulsive force between two magnetic fields to push the train away from the guideway.

Usage categories 

There are three primary types of usage categories:

  • Urban maglev (like Rotem and Linimo) for lower speeds and
  • High Speed Maglev (like the German Transrapid and the Japanese Chuo Maglev). 
  • Logistics (Cargo Container Maglev and industrial inhouse parcel transport systems).